Governance Structure

Our school is part of the Pontefract Academies Trust (PAT).

The PAT was created under the provisions of the Academies Act 2010, as amended by the Education Act 2011. Its structure of governance is constituted under the Articles of Association. The Trust is an exempt charity by virtue of the Charities Act 2011.

The Funding Agreement between the Department for Education (DfE) and the Trust sets out the terms and conditions on which grant is made. The Trust Board is responsible for ensuring that the conditions of grant are met. As part of this process the Trust is required to have in place appropriate arrangements for sound governance, financial management, securing value for money and accounting, and for using public funds for the purposes for which they were intended by Parliament.

This Trust Board is accountable in law for all decisions about its schools. This does not mean the Trust Board is required to make all the decisions itself. Some decisions can be, and are delegated, including to School Governance Committees, delegated officers, and other Trust Board established committees. The Governance Policy and Scheme of Delegation sets out the framework which the Trust Board has approved and is summarised below:

Our Governors

Name Category/Role Appointed By Appointment Date Term end date/date stepped down
Elaine Shepherd Chair Trust Board 06/10/2017 05/10/2021
Jo Cross Head of School Trust Board Not applicable
James Franklin Smith Executive Director of Secondary Education Trust Board 01/05/2018 Not applicable
David Wilkin School Governor Trust Board 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Russell Gibbins Governor Trust Board 01/09/2018 31/08/2022
Lisa Dale Shadow Parent School Governor Trust Board 19/03/2018 18/03/2022
Mark Engstrom Shadow Parent School Governor Trust Board 19/03/2018 18/03/2022
Former Executive School Governors who have resigned within the last 12 months
Andrew Eastell Shadow School Governor Trust Board 04/12/2017 31/08/2018
John Gough Vice Chair* Trust Board 08/05/2017 31/08/2018
Julie Craig Executive School Governor Trust Board 08/05/2017 31/03/2018
Mark Colley Executive School Governor Trust Board 08/05/2017 31/12/2017
Debbie Samwell Executive School Governor Trust board 08/05/2017 06/10/2017

*David Wilkin is also a Trustee and John Gough is also a Trustee and Member

School governor register of conflicts and interests

Elaine Shepherd (Chair)
School Governor at The King's School
Jo Cross (Acting Head of School)
None Declared
James Franklin Smith (Executive Director of Secondary Education)
None Declared
Russell Gibbins
Andrew Eastell (Shadow Governor)
None Declared
Lisa Dale (Parent Shadow Governor)

Parent of student in school

Mark Engstrom (Parent Shadow Governor)

Parent of student in school